EU- Russia Student Conference

The first international Breaking Down Barriers EU-Russia Student Conference dedicated to cooperation between Russia and European countries was held at the Skolkovo Moscow Business School on 14-15 June 2019. 

The central conference event was a panel discussion session where Ewald Nowotny, Chairman of the Central Bank of Austria, and Elvira Nabiullina, Chairperson of the Central Bank of Russia participated.  

A. S. Linnikov took part in a round table discussion session. The topic of the session was Russia and the EU Countries' Economic Cooperation Opportunities. I. A. Drozdov, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Skolkovo Foundation; A. G. Gavrilenko, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of the Alor Group of Companies; S.A. Monin, CEO, Raiffeisen Russia, Alexander Andreas Schierhuber, CEO, Breitspur Planungsgesellschaft; Thomas Birtel, CEO, STRABAG SE Austrian construction company, also participated in the round table discussion session. 

The main objective of the event was to unite the young people through common business interests, and to help them in establishing business contacts. This is the first step towards establishing cultural and political cooperation between Russia and the EU on a new level. During the conference period, students resolved business cases, and the representatives of the Russian and Austrian business and academic communities offered their comment to the students.  

The international EU-Russia Student Conference was organized by Igor Michka, a New Economic School student, and  Dominique Urac, an Austrian student of the Moscow State Institute of International Relations (MGIMO University) of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federations. 

The conference was attended by 80 students. One third of them were the students from the EU countries (Austria, France, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Germany, France, etc.), and two thirds of them were the students from various Russian cities and towns. The conference partners were STRABAG SE, the Central Bank of Austria, Raiffeisen Bank International (RBI) and the Rail Cargo Group.